I’ve got Friday in my head

When I lived in Madison, Wisconsin, in the ’80s, one of the local rock stations, WMAD, would play the same combination of tunes every Friday afternoon, supposedly marking the official start of the weekend.

I want to say it came about 2 p.m. because I often heard it in the car while heading home from the Y after playing basketball.

To this day, more than 25 years later, I cannot think of one song without the other. They are forever paired in my head. In this order.

And, yes, they do suggest the beginning of the weekend.

“Boogie,” John Hartford, 1967, available on “Me Oh My, How the Time Does Fly: A John Hartford Anthology,” 1982. It’s also on “Aereo-Plain,” a 1971 album which appears to be out of print.

In which the late, great Mr. Hartford — with whom a friend claims to have smoked some dope way back when — suggests, “Hey, babe, you wanna boogie?” It is as rough and full of grunts as Donna Summer’s “Love To Love You Baby” is smooth and full of moans.

That said, I don’t know where this short, radio-friendly version comes from. It runs only 1:41. Another version I have, off Hartford’s 1977 album, “All In The Name of Love,” runs about 2:30 and appears to be the same cut as on the anthology.

“Friday On My Mind,” the Easybeats, 1966. Available on “Friday On My Mind: The Very Best of the Easybeats,” 2002.

Oh, yeah, we all have the end of the work week on our minds.

This came from Australia and was written by George Young and Harry Vanda, who in the late ’70s and early ’80s were Flash and the Pan, one of my favorite groups. Young also produced the early work of AC/DC, in which his brothers Angus and Malcolm still play.

Whether these songs are still played in this order on Friday afternoons on WMAD, once a rock station at 92.1 FM and now a country station at 96.3 FM, I cannot say. It would be nice, though.

2 Comments

Filed under October 2008, Sounds

2 responses to “I’ve got Friday in my head

  1. bamabob

    You must be a mindreader or something. I was thinking of the Easybeats earlier today and Whammo! Here is a tasty Easybeats treat! Thanks for posting it. Also, the Hartford track definitely put a smile on my face…never heard it before, but I will surely listen to it again! Thanks

  2. Pingback: Linkin’ in Partytown « The Hits Just Keep On Comin’

Leave a Reply

