Bob Welch: Still got me hypnotized

It’s the same kind of story that seems to come down from long ago

The news of former Fleetwood Mac guitarist Bob Welch’s passing came on a gorgeously sunny day in our corner of Wisconsin. It’s not at all the kind of moment I associate with the song that introduced me to Bob Welch.

Because there’s no explaining

No, when I think of “Hypnotized,” I think of late nights, which is when I most often heard it in the early ’70s. Or I think of winter’s fog, a suitably eerie time for an ethereal and vaguely mysterious song.

What your imagination

The enduring power of “Hypnotized” was such that when I started buying vinyl LPs again a few years ago, a rough copy of “Mystery To Me” was one of the first records  I grabbed out of a dollar bin.

Can make you see and feel

I’m not sure I’ve ever figured out what the song was all about. Here’s one interpretation, suggested in the comments when we wrote about “Hypnotized” on that foggy winter’s night in March 2009. Something about Carlos Castaneda, peyote and dreams.

Seems like a dream

I hear Bob Welch’s song and I am taken right back to the deep quiet of those long-ago late nights, listening to the free-form FM radio, sorting through my teenage life and wondering what the future held.

Got me hypnotized

“Hypnotized,” Fleetwood Mac, from “Mystery To Me,” 1973.

Please visit our other blog, The Midnight Tracker, for more from Bob Welch and this album.

10 Comments

Filed under June 2012, Sounds

10 responses to “Bob Welch: Still got me hypnotized

  1. Great, great song. I’m surprised I didn’t think of it when I heard of his passing yesterday. I’ve never owned any of the Welch-era FM albums. I need to remedy that.

  2. Terry Anderson

    Another Welch nugget from that album is Miles Away. Nice job Jeff.

  3. Shark

    “Hypnotized,” “Bare Trees,” “Ebony Eyes,” “Hot Love Cold World,” “Easy To Fall,” Rebel Rouser,” all great Bob Welch songs. It’s a sad day for this Fleetwood Mac fan.

  4. Dane

    Thanks for posting this one. My knowledge of Welch-era Fleetwood Mac is nonexistent, so it’s nice to hear a song I’ve heard mentioned frequently in the last few days. I’m only familiar with his solo stuff.

  5. sandra c

    A most plesaunt haunting song ever…i could listen to that all day long. It gives me a feeling of inner peace, , the world is a better place with his magical voice that we always hear… rest my friend.. we always remember you .. if you left to soon, but left a beautiful
    gift.. Sandra in San Antonio TX

  6. Hi Jeff (my brother from another mother!)

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve stopped by here and you’re playing what I’m playing. Hypnotized has been in my top 10 from the very first time I heard it.

    JerseyCynic

  7. Pingback: Miles away, but not for long « The Midnight Tracker

  8. redsmitty

    Heard that song on coast to coast AM radio progamme.

  9. Madeleine

    I am listening to this haunting, beautiful song right now. Great blog. Thanks for that and Happy CELESTIAL Birthday today to Bob Welch. I want everyone to know, that this man was NOT included in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s induction of Fleetwood Mac. That is a terrible injustice. Welch was a really important part of the Fleetwood Mac story.

Leave a Reply

