All you need is lime

Leave it to my old friend Joe to come up with a cure for what ails me.

After I wrote last week about being sidelined from skating because of gout, Joe passed along this suggestion:

“The best home remedy for gout is to simply add a lime to your Tanqueray and tonic. It’s all in the lime.”

Joe has been foisting drinks upon me for almost 35 years now — and still is in terrific shape, I might add — so I figure he might know a little about it.

I’ve long eaten dried cherries and drank unsweetened cranberry/cherry juice for gout, and I often put lemon in my Coke, so why not a little lime?

Joe’s note went on to remind me of Harry Nilsson, whom we both enjoyed when we were in high school in the early ’70s.

A little lime in the coconut, anyone?

nilssonschmilssoncd.jpg

“Coconut,” Harry Nilsson, from “Nilsson Schmilsson,” 1972.

Here’s the same lime, the same coconut, but with a twist.

There’s no middle ground with this cover. You’ll either dig it or you won’t. Either way, it’s memorable. This is Fred Schneider of the B-52s, from a Nilsson tribute album.

nilssoncovers.jpg

“Coconut,” Fred Schneider, from “For The Love Of Harry: Everybody Sings Nilsson,” 1995.

This album has a bunch of good performances from a wide variety of folks. It appears to be out of print, so we’ll be sure to stop back for more cuts from time to time.

4 Comments

Filed under June 2007, Sounds

4 responses to “All you need is lime

  1. Love that Fred Schneider version – thanks! I picked up the expanded reissue of “Nilsson Schmilsson” a couple of months back – it is a record I grew up listening to and is a welcome addition to my collection.

  2. larry

    thanks for The Love Of Harry: Everybody Sings Nilsson – want to hear more from that

  3. this is really cool and I love how it instantly sounds b-52ish but it isn’t a b-52 song but the super cool coconut song. Love it.

  4. Pingback: jefitoblog

Leave a Reply

