A season awaits

packtixpix.jpg

If you’ve been around AM, Then FM for a while, you know we come to you from Green Bay, Wisconsin, the home of the Green Bay Packers.

We live practically within sight of Lambeau Field. Vince Lombardi lived on our block when he moved to town in 1959. Curly Lambeau, who founded the Packers and for whom the stadium is named, is buried two blocks from our house.

Come 8 or 9 a.m. Sunday, the tailgate parties will commence at Lambeau Field. Oh, they are something. Cold bevvies and grilled food for as far as the eye can see. I went to my first game and tailgate party at Lambeau Field in 1980. I’ve been back many times since, in all kinds of weather.

Come a couple of minutes before noon Sunday, three or four military jets will zoom low over Lambeau Field, the traditional flyover before kickoff. We’ll see it on TV and hear it outside.

Come about 3 p.m. Sunday, after three hours of the Packers vs. the Philadelphia Eagles, the tailgate parties resume, win or lose. Oh, it can get to be a long day.

However, the tailgate parties go better with the right music. And what better soundtrack for your game-day bash than some of the classic compositions that accompany NFL Films presentations?

nflcd.jpg

“Torpedo,” composed by Sam Spence, from “The Power and the Glory: The Original Music and Voices of NFL Films,” 1998.

And it would not be another NFL season without the voice of the legendary John Facenda, the late, great Philadelphia broadcaster who for years narrated NFL Films. Hard to believe he has been gone 23 years now.

“A Season Awaits,” John Facenda, also from “The Power and the Glory: The Original Music and Voices of NFL Films,” 1998.

Hope you dig it. We have more football music to come.

3 Comments

Filed under September 2007, Sounds

3 responses to “A season awaits

  1. I love the game and understand long Sundays and, despite my trepidation, look forward to another season of them. I do fear that this will be a long season here in the land of the ships and horns. But then, we Vikings fans can deal with adversity; we’ve had plenty of practice. (We are the NFL equivalent of Cubs fans, I think.) At least, when the season gets long in Wisconsin, you have the light reflecting from three Lombardi Trophies to combat the gloom. Here, the gloom can swallow all.

  2. jb

    Bring it on. It’s been too long since last season ended. I need a rooting interest to watch most games on TV, but I can watch the NFL until my eyes fall out no matter who’s playing. And I often do.

  3. Shark

    I prefer the noon kickoffs for Packer games because if they win, the Packers have made my day and I can enjoy the rest of the day watching another game or doing something with my wife, Deb. If they lose, I stew about it for awhile but it wears off by evening. The 3:15pm games take up the whole day and well into the evening. It’s great when they win, but if they lose (and some of those losses have been absolute horror shows) its after 7pm, it’s dark, and my whole day is ruined. I wind up stewing about it even at bedtime.

    I know, I know…I really should get some counseling.

Leave a Reply

