What was that song?

In 1974, I badly wanted, and could not find in my hometown of Wausau, Wisconsin, a somewhat obscure album from a Detroit band getting some regional airplay.

Likewise, my pal who went to college in another town could not find a Babe Ruth album he wanted. So we looked for, and eventually found, each other’s albums.

The album I wanted? “Seven,” the seventh album from a still-young Bob Seger.

The song I had to have? “Get Out of Denver.”

The next year, in 1975, I had one of those “What was that?” moments while listening to the FM radio of the day.

The song I had to have? Seger, again. It’s from this week’s side over at The Midnight Tracker.

segerbeautifulloserlp.jpg

“Katmandu,” Bob Seger, from “Beautiful Loser,” 1975.

3 Comments

Filed under December 2007, Sounds

3 responses to “What was that song?

  1. Two great Bob Seger tunes. If you don’t have ‘Live’ Bullet, it’s a must-get for Christmas. In college, I loved to play Travelin’ Man/Beautiful Loser together. 8:53 of the best stuff ever from Seger.

  2. Turn The Page is still one song that gives me goosebumps when I hear it.

  3. Shark

    I saw Seger in concert just once…in 1978. Although I already had “Live Bullet” and “Night Moves” in my album collection, I wasn’t hooked on Bob Seger just yet. After seeing him in concert that April night in Madison, Wisconsin, I became hooked. Soon after, I got myself a copy of “Stranger in Town,” which contains one of my all-time favorite songs, “Hollywood Nights.”

Leave a Reply

