Tunes for your tailgate party

As you know, we do requests here at AM, Then FM.

The other day, I got a note from someone seeking a tune called “Go You Packers Go.” It came out in 1996 as the Green Bay Packers were making a long-awaited return to glory.

So, to fulfill that request, here is that tune. Along with it, some others you may enjoy if you’re putting together a mix before the Packers play the Giants in the NFC championship game at Lambeau Field on Sunday night.

When you work at the newspaper in the Packers’ hometown, things get pretty crazy when they go this deep into the season. That’s why this post isn’t going to be particularly long.

Enjoy the tunes. Enjoy the game.

If you’re not into the Packers, or not from Wisconsin, you probably have less than zero interest in this post. I understand that. If nothing else, we’re preserving a small slice of regional culture here today.

“Packers Fight Song,” by the Packers Band, from the 1960s.

They used to play the latter part of this tune on every Packers kickoff well into the mid-1990s. I know. We used to sit behind the band in Section 26, Row 1 at Lambeau Field. This sounds like it was taped by laying a microphone on top of a speaker.

nflcd.jpg

“Lombardi” and “Golden Boy,” the former composed by Sam Spence and narrated by John Facenda and the latter composed by Tom Hedden, from “The Power and the Glory: The Original Music and Voices of NFL Films,” 1998. Need we say more?

northerner45.jpg

“Be a Packer Backer,” the Northerners, date unknown, but almost certainly from the 1960s. It’s on the Tropical Records label. It’s fairly straight big band/pep band material for the first 2 minutes, then finishes up with an odd, slightly faster reprise laid over canned crowd noise for the last minute.

I found this obscure 45 in a box of 45s given me by my dad, who’d been given them by his insurance agent, who thought he was a record collector.

It sounds like a vanity pressing, the kind usually done by Tropical Records, which was run out of Deland, Florida. Songwriters or groups would pay to have their songs recorded. (All this information from Phil Milstein’s American Song-Poem Music Archives.)

cwastraightcd.jpg

“Cheesehead Baby,” Cheeseheads With Attitude, from “Straight Outta Wisconsin,” 1996.

This also is a staple on jukeboxes across Wisconsin. It’s a parody of Beck’s “Loser,” jam-packed with Wisconsin references and Packers references.

CWA is made up of three Wisconsin guys living in L.A. The leader, who bills himself as “St. Evie,” is really Stevie Rachelle. He was the lead singer for Tuff, an ’80s glam metal band. Believe it or not, CWA has put out three CDs, all parodies, and a greatest-hits CD.

wizenhiemersep.jpg

“Go You Packers Go,” the Wizenhiemers, from “The Wizenhiemers,” a 1996 EP on Rhu Records out of Madison. Out of print. Try eBay.

The Wizenhiemers are a rock band from Madison, Wisconsin. This tune is a staple on jukeboxes throughout Wisconsin, even if the Packers references are outdated. Brett Favre is the only player mentioned who’s still at it.

6 Comments

Filed under January 2008, Sounds

6 responses to “Tunes for your tailgate party

  1. I love John Facenda’s voice…he’s the Ken Nordine of the NFL…thanks for the post…I’ll be playing these on my sports talk show, “More On Sports” (Fridays 5-6:30PM EST) on WCLM 1450 AM (http://www.wclmradio.com)…

  2. Shark

    Thank you, Jeff…I’m gonna play these songs on our group of stations. I do a half-hour sports show on Mondays at 5pm on our ESPN “Double-Team” WGLR-AM/Lancaster and WPVL-AM/Platteville and I’ll probably slip a few of those in, too.

    I also have “Big News” by Lonestar, a revised version of their hit, “No News” which the group recorded in January 1997 with tons of Packer references.

  3. I’m really pulling for a Packers victory. I want a Packers/Patriots rematch! That and I don’t think the Giants stand a chance against the Patriots, whereas a Patriots/Packers game could easily go either way.

    Oh and San Diego doesn’t stand a chance against New England this weekend. I was disappointed that Indianapolis lost this past weekend. I was hoping for a rematch of last year’s AFC title game…. Well maybe next season.

  4. Well . . . you know I can’t say I want the Packers to win. No Vikings fan can. But I detest the Giants and always have . . . so I want them to lose. That will have to be good enough. Have a fine week there in Packerland!

  5. Sean

    Thank you for hosting the Wizenhiemers song… I actually own it on tape, and no longer had any way to convert it to MP3 (my copy was 128kb, which I recorded from said tape 10 years ago, so yours sounds even better!)

    I own all three CWA CDs.. It helps to have a relative working at a Green Bay radio station. Go Pack!

    (Obviously doing all this for recent events)

  6. Eric

    Hey shark, would it be possible to send me “Big News” by Lonestar

Leave a Reply

