Midnight Tracker sampler, Vol. 3

Before David Lee Roth gone solo in 1985, there was Louis Prima.

Before Kid Rock at the Grammys, there was Prima at Keely Smith’s side.

Tonight on The Midnight Tracker, we have proof.

Check out Side 1 of “The Wildest!” That’s the classic 1957 album by Prima, Smith and their incendiary backing band, Sam Butera and the Witnesses.

Here’s a medley that helped set the tone for rock ‘n’ roll … even if the tunes that make up the medley were already 30 to 40 years old when Prima put them together.

louisprimawildest.jpeg

“Just a Gigolo/I Ain’t Got Nobody,” Louis Prima, from “The Wildest!” 1957.

3 Comments

Filed under February 2008, Sounds

3 responses to “Midnight Tracker sampler, Vol. 3

  1. Ah, Prima. Simply the best.

    Another product of New Orleans. I’ve heard that when Sinatra and the Rat Pack were in Vegas, they’d go see HIS shows. I almost wish I was around when he was playing Vegas…I’d love to have seen him live in concert.

    I’m thankful I’ve found some of his older work. He’s truly amazing, and his backup band, last I heard, was still touring.

    Everyone should listen to Prima. He’s that good.

  2. I agree with Eric. I picked up his “Essential” comp a few weeks back. The wild sound is ace to say the least. This will prompt me to do a rather interesting post at Fufu Snax today or tomorrow so stand by and as always, keep that freeform flowing!

    Peace and blessings.

  3. stackja1945

    I can see where rock and roll came from.

Leave a Reply

