I hear your mom has an iPod

cousins1963a.jpg

That’s how I started my e-mail to a girl I’ve never met. Rachel’s first thought was that it was junk mail. But thankfully, she kept reading.

Rachel’s mom is my cousin Jenny, who’s a year older than I am.

(Jenny and I are in the photo above, dated March 1963. Twelve of what eventually would be 17 cousins sit on the stairs at Grandpa and Grandma’s house in Wausau, Wisconsin.)

These days, Jenny is dealing with a fairly serious medical issue.

When I was with some of my cousins at a family gathering last week, I heard Jenny had gotten an iPod.

So I got Rachel’s e-mail address from the web site Jenny’s husband set up to keep us updated. I asked her what kinds of tunes her mom likes.

Rachel listed 25 singers and bands, then added 11 more, saying “Here are some that I think she’d like (but doesn’t listen to now).” Stopping at 36, she said, “Well, that’s all that I can think of off the top of my head!”

Rachel says her mom “really likes acoustic sounding music with male voices” and “women who can really belt it out,” not to mention “fun 60’s music.” Yeah, I think we can do that.

Here are some of the songs that’ll be going on Jenny’s CDs for her iPod. A couple of acoustic ones, a couple of belters and a couple from the ’60s.

zevonlifellkillyacd.jpg

“Back in the High Life Again,” Warren Zevon, from “Life’ll Kill Ya,” 2000.

colinhaymancd.jpg

“Beautiful World,” Colin Hay, from “Man at Work,” 2003.

shellybhushandaisiescd.jpg

“Picking Daisies,” Shelly Bhushan, from “Picking Daisies,” 2007.

iketinacometogetherlp.jpg

“I Want to Take You Higher,” Ike and Tina Turner, from “Come Together,” 1970. Out of print. Also available on this greatest-hits CD.

grassroots16hitslp.jpg

“Lovin’ Things,” the Grass Roots, 1969, from “Their 16 Greatest Hits,” 1971. Out of print. Also available on this greatest-hits CD.

turtles20greatestlp.jpg

“Happy Together,” the Turtles, 1967, from “The Turtles’ 20 Greatest Hits,” 1983. Also available on this greatest-hits CD.

2 Comments

Filed under March 2008, Sounds

2 responses to “I hear your mom has an iPod

  1. kindero

    Great post. Cyber well wishes go to your cousin from all who read this and enjoy the music — along with her — for a long time to come.

  2. I’ve got that Colin Hay CD… I love the version of Down Under he did with Cecilia Noel and the Wild Clams.

    I actually first heard of Cecilia Noel back in 1993 in an interview with Chicago drummer, Tris Imboden who was married to her at the time. He mentioned that he’d done some percussion work on the recent EP of his wife’s band Cecilia Noel and the Wild Clams.

    And maybe it’s sacrilege to admit this but I think that version of it is superior to the original.

Leave a Reply

