Plenty cheesy

You may have heard in the news last week that a certain professional athlete seems to be having a tough time making up his mind.

When we last wrote about this athlete, he had decided to retire and leave our town — Green Bay, Wisconsin — for good, or so it seemed. That occasion brought to mind just one tune. I don’t have it, so enjoy this video.

“I’m Tired,” as performed by Madeline Kahn in the 1974 film “Blazing Saddles.”

“I’m tired/Tired of playing the game/Ain’t it a crying shame/I’m so tired/God dammit I’m exhausted”

“Tired, tired of playing the game/Ain’t it a crying shame/I’m so tired”

Now, however, this athlete apparently is no longer tired. That brings to mind one more tune, and one tune only. I don’t have this one, either, so enjoy this video.

“Release Me,” Englebert Humperdinck, from his 1969-70 television show.

“Please release me, let me go/For I don’t love you anymore/To waste our lives would be a sin/So release me and let me love again

“Please release me, can’t you see?/You’d be a fool to cling to me/To live a life would bring us pain/So release me and let me love again”

For those of us who must continue to report about this athlete, and for the many fans of his team, the latest news brings to mind another tune, and one tune only. Again, I don’t have this one, so enjoy the video.

“I’m Doing Fine Now,” New York City, from 1973.

“I’m doing fine now, without you, baby”

A perfect song in, oh, so many ways.

2 Comments

Filed under July 2008, Sounds like bull to me

2 responses to “Plenty cheesy

  1. Very funny stuff!
    How ’bout this one…

    “How Could I Let You Get Away” – The Spinners

  2. I’ve been reading up on ‘I’m Doing Fine Now’ and stumbled across this blog. Great work! Such a great song.🙂

Leave a Reply

