The rest of the story

When last we left you, the kid with the red bag was sharing his finds from last weekend’s Green Bay Record Convention.

One of them was this record, which I’ve had since the ’70s.

j geils bloodshot

“It’s on red vinyl!” the kid with the red bag said.

Ooooh, I thought, wish I’d found that. But then I let it go. It was more fun for the kid with the red bag to have that red vinyl.

Fast forward to today, a week later.

I walk into Rock N’ Roll Land, one of our fine indie record stores in Green Bay. I am scarcely two steps in the door before my friend Todd reaches behind the counter and pulls out a record.

“Here you go! I knew I had a copy” he said, smiling gleefully.

bloodshot my red vinyl

Not only did Todd have a copy, but it was one of the dollar records. It has a bad skip or scratch. Doesn’t matter because I already have a good copy, albeit on black vinyl.

Thanks, man. It’s a fun thing to have, a wonderful gesture and much appreciated.

Proof again that you should visit your local record store on Saturday afternoon. You might find a nice record like this.

j geils blow your face out lp

“(Ain’t Nothing But A) House Party,” J. Geils Band, from “Blow Your Face Out,” 1976, one of the greatest of all live records. Also available digitally. It’s the scorching live version of their cover of The Showstoppers’ 1967 hit, first recorded by the J. Geils Band for “Bloodshot.”

3 Comments

Filed under March 2016, Sounds

3 responses to “The rest of the story

  1. I’ve never heard Blow Your Face Out (it’s an excellent title) but I do own Full House. That is a great live disc too. BTW, Have you ever heard Peter Wolf’s solo stuff? He’s made some really cool records.

  2. Jeff, have you ever thought about displaying the album cover and disc partially exposed as in the photo? I’ve been looking for a display frame made specifically for that purpose for a couple albums with colored discs in my collection. Haven’t been able to find any but one through Amazon. Hesitant to order sight unseen.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.